3 comments Add a comment
After reading about the recent 'shocking' Cadbury cream egg advert I stumbled across this Metro article from a years back and upon reading the headlines my first reaction was one of shock. Personally I go out of my way to avoid Halal foods and it's made more difficult because much of the time it isn't obvious up front whether or not the food you are eating is Halal or not.
Once the shock wore off and of course it became obvious all was not what it seemed. Sure enough, another shock tactic article to lure readers in. Well it worked and of course water and bread can be consumed by those on a Halal diet and chocolate that uses gelatine not sourced from an animal would of course be fine too.
All very well, but things aren't what they seem.
After some more investigation I discovered that some Cadbury products include rennet, which comes from the stomach of a calf and it is used in a small number of Cadbury products. I also discovered a Halal Database which indicates that these products are Halal and presumably OK because they are sourced from animals slaughtered in a compliant way. There's also a Cadbury UK Tweet indicating they use animal Rennet.
@LouLou699 Hi there, calf rennet is used in the making of the caramel in the Daim pieces. Hope that helps!— Cadbury UK (@CadburyUK) October 25, 2013
So what's the fuss and why am I bothered? Well first of all I don't agree with Halal slaughter, it's not part of the culture of the majority of people in this country and secondly I feel strongly that wherever these products are used in food products or in supermarkets etc. it isn't immediately obvious.
Typically in this country though, most people don't care. As long as they're getting a good deal, getting something cheap they don't need to know about where it comes from or who or what suffers.