A vegetarian cafe is refusing to accept the new £5 note after it emerged the currency contains animal products.
Sharon Meijland, owner of the Rainbow Cafe in Cambridge, has put up signs warning customers about the policy.
There was outcry from some vegetarians and religious groups when it was revealed the polymer used for the notes contains tallow - a type of animal fat.
I think this is quite absurd and the reaction from the vegetarian and vegans, not to mention religious groups is quite out of proportion. It's not as if the new fiver is made from leather or printed with cows blood. It's a minuscule quantity used in the process and there are far more pressing issues in the world right now.
Looking at this optimistically as I do. There will be some shop premises up for rent in the near future as a cafe closes down. Perhaps an opportunity for a new micropub?